Wednesday, February 22, 2017

10 Best Young Adults Books of January 2017



Here's my top 10 YA Books of January 2017 : 


1. The Book Jumper by Mechthild Glaser

Release : January 3
Publisher : Feiwel & Friends 




Ever wish you could jump inside a book you read ? This book follows the story of a girl named Amy Lennox, who's on her way to Scotland heading to her mother's childhood home on the island of Stormsay. Amy's grandmother, Lady Mairead, insist that Amy must read durng her stay at Lennox house but not in a usual way. Turns out, she's a book jumper ( able to leap into a story and interact with the world inside ) But her ability also brings danger, when someone is stealing from the books she visits and maybe after her life. Teaming up with a fellow jumper, Will. Amy vows to get to the bottom of thefts, whatever it cost. 


2. Life in a Fishbowl by Len Vlohos 

Release : January 3 
Publisher : Bloomsbury USA Childrens 




When Jackie discovers that her father has been diagnosed with a terminal brain tumor, her whole life starts crumble and she can't imagine how she'll live without him. Then, in desperate act to secure his family's future, Jackie's father puts his life up for auction on eBay and a bored, sociopathic, billionaire, and soulless executive who will pay the family five million dollars in exchange for participating in a reality TV show broadcasting the last few months of Jackie's father existence. Now the life that that Jackie knows is about to change forever. 


3. The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti 

Release : January 3 
Publisher : Sourcebooks 



Hawthorn Creely still holding grudge after being dismissed by Lizzie Lovett years earlier and when Lizzie has gone missing from a nearby campsite, Hawthorn decided to investigating her paranormal theory behind Lizzie's disappearance. Hawthron then befriends with Lizzie's boyfriend, begins waitressing at the diner where she worked and visits places Lizzie usually goes. But her true motive is to show the world of paranormal does exist so everyone would stop bothering her future and that she's proven herself to improve something great. Told in a unique point of view both hillarious and heart wrenching, Hawthorn's quest for proof maybe a way to uncover the truth about herself. 

4. Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken 

Release : January 3
Publisher :  Disney Hyperion



The next journey of time travelling continues, Etta Spencer didn't know she was a time traveler until the day she emerged miles and years away from home. Now, robbed of the powerful object that was her only hope saving her mother, Etta finds herself once again cut off from Nicholas ( The 18th century privater she loves ) and her natural time. When Etta stumbles upon the renegade travelers who stole the astrolabe from her, she vows to finish what she started and destroy it. Things got complicated when she made a revelation from their leader, Henry Hemlock, who turns out to be his father ! Etta now must choose a path that might change her future forever. Meanwhile, Nicholas' devastated by Etta's disappearance and he enlisted help from Sophia Ironwood and a cheeky mercenary for-hire to track both Etta and the missing astrolabe. But as the timeline grows, they discover an ancient power far more powerful and frightening than the rival travelers, a power that threatens to eradicate the timeline together. 

5. A List of Cages by Robin Roe 

Release : January 10
Publisher : Disney Hyperion 



Told the story through alternating first person narration, the story of 14 year old, Julian and his former foster brother, 18 year old, Adam, both equally heartwarming and heartbreaking. Five years after losing his parents in a tragic accident and being taken from a loving foster home to live with his cold and brutal uncle, Adam reunited again with Julian due to his courtesy of ADHD, Adam is happy to be assigned the job of escorting Julian to the counseling session that he's been frequently skipping. But, Adam quickly realizes that Julian has changed and this Julian is different from the one he used to know. A triumphant story about the power of friendship and of truly being seen is told perfectly in this book.

6. Carve The Mark by Veronica Roth 

Release : January 17 
Publisher : Katherine Tegen Books



Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in Veronica's Roth new Sci-Fi fantasy series. On a planet where violence & Vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a gift, a unique powers meant to shape the future. While most gets benefits from their gifts, Akos and Cyra don't, their power makes them vulnerable to others' control. Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people, her gift is to gives pain, something her brother exploits to torture his enemies. But Cyra is so much more than that, she's resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than her brother knows. Meanwhile, Akos is from the peace and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet's soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive. When Akos is thrust into Cyra's world, they must decide to help each other survive or destroy one another.

7. History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

Release : January 17
Publisher : Soho Teen 




When Griffin's ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and starts seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he's been imagining has gone far off course. Even worse, the only person that truly understands his loss is Jackson. No matter how much they've open up to each other, Griffin's downward spiral continues. If Griffin is ever rebuild his future, he must confronts his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

8. The You I've Never Known by Elle Hopkins

Release : January 24
Publisher : Margaret K. McEldery Books



We follow a girl named, Ariel, who live with his dad all her life because her mother left them when she's very young. Now, she's 17 year old and finally they've put down roots so she's able to make friends, a settle home and through out the book we follow her trying to find herself, even her sexuality. Meanwhile, her father is homophobic and its her journey trying to get through all of that in this book. 

9. Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Release : January 31
Publisher : Flatiron Books



Scarlett and Tella live in a little island, where their father has arranged a marriage for Scarlett, while actually what she want is to see this game called Caraval, and you can only go if you're invited. Both Scarlett and Tella are invited to go, so they're headed off to see Caraval. But once they got there, Tella gets kidnapped and they make the whole game about finding her and the first who finds her win the game and get one wish granted. So, Scarlett has to find Tella but she got wrapped up in the game cause' she can't tell what's real and what's fake that's happening, and she only has five nights to find Tella. 

10. The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles 

Release : January 31
Publisher : Bloomsbury USA Childrens



Follows Zoe, a 17 year old who's dealing with the aftershock of her father's sudden death and her neighbors disappearance from their home. Even worse, Zoe and her brother are attacked in their freezing Montana cabin. But then, they're rescued by X, a bounty hunter from a mysterious hell called The Lowlands, who's been sent to claim the soul of their attacker.